Log in

Ohio Society of Health-System PharmacY

OSHP Scholarshipsfor Non-Graduating PharmD Students

This is a merit-based scholarship designed to recognize an outstanding professional student enrolled in a Doctor of Pharmacy program at an Ohio-based College of Pharmacy. PharmD students in the final year of their program are ineligible for consideration. The selection committee will award one scholarship annually in the amount of $500.00 on the basis of academic achievements, leadership abilities, professional activities, references, interest in pharmacy, etc.

The scholarship award recipient will be expected to actively participate in one of the OSHP divisions during the coming academic year and should make every effort to attend the semi-annual OSHP Division days.

Deadline June 30th


Scholarship Programs from Local Affiliated Chapters

Akron Area Society

The Akron Area Society of Health-System Pharmacy (AASHP) would like to invite students enrolled in Ohio colleges or schools of pharmacy to apply for our annual scholarship.  The scholarship is offered each year to a student in his/her P1 – P3 year (P3 – P5 year in 6 year programs).  The amount awarded is $500, and the application deadline is March 6, 2023. Please feel free to email with any questions. The application form is attached. 

AASHP was organized in 1947 and is a local chapter of the Ohio Society of Health-System Pharmacists.  We meet on the second Tuesday of every other month starting January through July, as well as September through November. Our usual meeting location is at Summa Health System – Akron Campus (Akron City Hospital), but we also have meetings at NEOMED and are expanding to other venus in the Akron/Canton area. All students are welcome to attend our business meetings and continuing education programs free of charge. Please follow us on social media (@AkronASHP) or contact our secretary, Chris Ensley ( for more information regarding meeting attendance.

Our membership spans local hospitals, universities and community clinics; pharmacy technicians, clinical pharmacists, staff pharmacists and administrators. We are engaged in community by participating in local events and getting involved in philanthropic endeavors.  During 10 months of the year AASHP hosts a continuing education program for our membership, including an Ohio State Board of Pharmacy approved law CE.  We would love for you to consider joining our ranks. 

Visit the Akron Area Society of Health-System Pharmacists on Facebook.

Central Ohio Society

The Central Ohio Society of Health-System Pharmacists (COSHP) offers scholarships to qualified Ohio State University students enrolled in the Doctor of Pharmacy program. COSHP awards two scholarships annually to eligible students. Applicants must be full-time students at The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy and enrolled in the Doctor of Pharmacy program, be in good academic standing with a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or above, and should demonstrate involvement in extracurricular pharmacy activities.

The scholarship award recipients are expected to attend monthly COSHP meetings, take an active role in SSHP at The Ohio State University, and attend the annual COSHP Scholarship Fundraiser Event in February. For more information, please contact Gretchen Lindsey, COSHP Secretary 2015-2017, at

Dayton Area Society

The Dayton Area Society of Health-System Pharmacists offers scholarships to be awarded to licensed Interns in their non-graduating year in an accredited college of pharmacy who intend to seek a position in the greater Dayton area or surrounding counties. For more information and online application, contact Ray Smith at 937 395-8377 or

Previous recipients:

2019: Dylan Magoto (Ohio Northern University), Jaclyn Applegate (Cedarville University), Kristina Burban (Cedarville University), Carmen Witsken (University of Findlay) 

2018: Jonathan Belvo (Ohio Northern University), Jonathan Czyzewski (Cedarville University), Nicole Stute (Cedarville University), Valerie Pfaff (Northeast Ohio Medical University)

2017: Jonathan Belvo (Ohio Northern University), Jonathan Czyzewski (Cedarville University), Brooke Kohls (Ohio Northern University), Daniel Fecher (The Ohio State University)

2016: Kristen Hinshaw (University of Findlay), Mackenzie DeVine (Ohio Northern), Nicole Weckesser (Ohio Northern).

2015: Tara Pullins (Ohio Northern), Michael Czupryn (University of Toledo), Joe Zerka (Cedarville), Brooke Kohls (Ohio Northern).

2014: Austin Brown (Ohio Northern), Ashley Byrne (NEOMED), Christine Walton (Ohio State), Brendon Rasor (Ohio Northern)

2013: Kyle Hultz, Anli McCoy, Kelsie Moore, Alyssa Penick

2012: Karen Wirick, Zachary Crawford, Abby Ricket, Alison Steinbrunner

2011: Emily Brown, Raquel Candrall, Sarah Drake, Jacqueline Nunner

2010: Abigail Clark, Natalie Clark, Carla Huelskamp

2009: Megan Burns, Emily Bennett, Rachel Schroth

2008: Adrienne Derr, Julie Wirick

About the organization

"The mission of OSHP is to optimize patient health by advocating for the advancement of pharmacy practice to promote comprehensive, quality care across the health-care continuum